A Peculiar Home for a Peculiar Person

Well folks I finally made the big move to London town and had to spend some time looking for a place to live. Being the unusual guy I like to pretend I am, I had my heart set on certain areas of London and restricted myself not just by budget but by area too. For anyone who’s ever looked for a place in London on a budget you know how peculiar a request this is.

This week has been quite hectic, so apologies for the lack of a post, or any kind of activity on this blog. Although if you’ve linked with us on Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram I did try and keep on top of things through those. But Moz, why were you so busy? I hear no one in particular ask.

Well folks I finally made the big move to London town and had to spend some time looking for a place to live. Being the unusual guy I like to pretend I am, I had my heart set on certain areas of London and restricted myself not just by budget but by area too. For anyone who’s ever looked for a place in London on a budget you know how peculiar a request this is.

As luck would have it though, I did find a place to live in the South West of the city for a reasonable price and not living with 17 other Irish people and their mothers. So, in order to break in the new pad, I ducked out this morning to find a new book to read for the weeks as I wait for uni to begin. I found Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar  Children by Ransom Riggs in the charity shop downstairs and thought it a fitting title to begin my time in a new home.

What I didn’t know, or rather didn’t bother to learn before buying, is what the book is about. The dust jacket regards it as a “Thrilling” mix of fiction and photographs about a spooky old house on an abandoned Welsh island. It seems the whole don’t judge a book by its cover lesson never fully sunk in with me. I’m hopeful that it won’t be too dark a follow-up to last week’s The God of Small Things, which had me very close to tears on the Southbound Train from Waterloo yesterday afternoon. It was either that or the thought that I could possibly have been delayed by 45 minutes on my way to Clapham that brought on the tears. I remain uncertain.

If you’re uncertain about picking up either of the books mentioned in this post, stay tuned for my reviews, they should arrive sometime this week as I’ll have a lot of time to sit in the park and read. And if you haven’t already please like us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter and Instagram to keep up with all that’s happening with TheCrackedSpine.

Moz

3 thoughts on “A Peculiar Home for a Peculiar Person

Leave a Reply

